Premio “Ingeniero del Año”

En 1977, el Comité Ejecutivo de la Asociación, acordó establecer el Premio Ingeniero del Año para distinguir a un ingeniero que se hubiese destacado en el ejercicio de su profesión, como ingeniero o como ejecutivo de una empresa teniendo a su cargo la supervisión de ingenieros profesionales. Los premios han sido otorgados desde entonces a los siguientes ingenieros:

Wilfredo Sotolongo

The 2019 Engineer of the Year – Wilfredo Sotolongo

Wilfredo Sotolongo is head of the Lenovo DCG Internet of Things (IoT) Group worldwide. In this role, he is responsible for selecting, developing, launching, and deploying IoT and OEM offerings to customers and partners. This includes ownership of solutions including edge servers, IoT gateways, and associated software and services.

Wilfredo was previously responsible for the Lenovo DCG business in EMEA as well as managing the Global 500 clientele around the world. In these roles, he was in charge of sales and customer satisfaction, including developing and deploying an efficient go-to- market model.

With over 32 years of experience in the technology industry, Wilfredo has served in a variety of sales leadership roles. Prior to Lenovo, Wilfredo led global sales for IBM’s x86 servers, during which time he created a standalone System x channel group. He also managed the separation of this activity from IBM, as well as its integration intoLenovo.

Wilfredo previously held the position of North America Vice President for Business Partner and Mid-Market Sales, North America Vice President for System x Sales, and Latin America Director for Distribution and Industrial Sector Sales, all within IBM. Prior to these roles, he served in a series of leadership positions within IBM North America both in sales and in product development.

Wilfredo has a Masters’ Degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Aeronautical Engineering from the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

Previous Years

2018 – Jose Carlos Cabana

2017 – Rafael R. Palacios, P.E
2016 – Erick Gonzalez, P.E

2015 – Rafael (Ralph) de la Vega
2014 – Manuel B. (Manny) Miranda
2013 – Miguel Arechabala
2012 – Dr. Adalio T. Sanchez
2010 – Dr. Irma Becerra-Fernandez, P.E.
2009 – Peter Montadas
2008 – Dr. Helena Solo-Gabriele, P.E.
2007 – William Pino, P.E.
2006 – Charlie Danger, P.E.
2005 – Geisha J. Williams
2004 – Prof. Ysrael A. Seinuk, P.E.
2003 – Armando J. Olivera
2002 – Leopoldo L. Suarez
2001 – Pedro L. Martinez
2000 – Robert E. Sanchez
1999 – Michael B. Acosta, P.E.
1998 – Carlos A. Penin, P.E.
1997 – Julio Alvarez, P.E.
1996 – Adalberto Alfonso, Jr.
1995 – Dr. Gustavo Roig
1994 – Jose Basulto,
1993 – Antonio Navarro, P.E.
1992 – Dr. Nils J. Diaz-Rojas, P.E.
1991 – Alfredo Sotolongo, P.E.
1990 – Gerardo B. Fernandez
1989 – Jorge G. Valdes, P.E.
1988 – Dr. Manuel J. Cereijo
1987 – Dr. Modesto A. Maidique,
1986 – Gonzalo J. Sanchez, P.E.
1985 – Antonio Rodriguez,P.E.
1984 – Amado J. Acosta, P.E.
1983 – Pedro O. Martinez, P.E.
1982 – Manuel J. Rodriguez, P.E.
1981 – Francisco J. Labarta
1980 – Dr. Agustin A. Recio, P.E.
1979 – Serafin G. Menocal
1978 – Dr. Augusto R. Condom
1977 – Jose M. Bestard, P.E.